Artiste
Artiste

ROD


ROD :

Rod is a French artist born in 1977. From an early age, he experimented with drawing and painting. He obtained a master’s degree in plastic arts before moving towards film decoration. After seven years in the film industry, he returned to the American comic books that rocked his childhood.

 

Works out of the frame :

Mythical characters, super heroes and bad guys, cohabit on striking canvases. Captain America, Spider-Man regild their shields in bubbles that come off dangerous tracks. Rod evades the visual codes of comic strips to infuse humanity embellished with a touch of irony. He extracts a vignette from the environment while preserving its meaning so as not to distort the illustrator’s message. Then, he enlarges and intensifies it by adding volume, relief and by using different materials such as leather, glitter, butterflies etc…

 

“The Devil is in the detail”:

The artist deciphers the effect of his characters on society and their influence on the construction of identity. From the screening and admiration to rejection, these models emerge as models or counter-models of the visual culture.
All these many details that constitute the message and conceal them.

Artworks

Artiste
Artiste

ROD


ROD :

Rod est un artiste français né en 1977. Dès son plus jeune âge, il expérimente le dessin et la peinture. Il obtient une maîtrise en arts plastiques avant de s’acheminer vers la décoration des films. Après sept années dans le domaine cinématographique, il renoue avec les comics américains qui ont bercé son enfance.

 

Des œuvres sortant du cadre :

Les personnages mythiques, supers héros et méchants, cohabitent sur des toiles saisissantes. Captain America, Spider-Man redorent leurs blasons dans des bulles qui sortent des sentiers battus. Rod déjoue les codes visuels de la BD pour y infuser de l’humanité agrémentée d’une pointe d’ironie. Il extrait une vignette de son environnement tout en préservant son sens afin de ne pas dénaturer le message de l’illustrateur. Puis, il l’agrandie et l’intensifie en lui ajoutant du volume, du relief et en ayant recours différents matériaux comme le cuir, les paillettes, des papillons etc…

 

« Le Diable se cache dans le détail » :

L’artiste décrypte l’effet de ses personnages sur la société et leurs influences sur la construction de l’identité. De la projection, à l’admiration, en passant par le rejet, ces modèles s’érigent comme des modèles ou des contres modèles de la culture visuelle. Tous ces nombreux détails qui forment le message et les dissimulent.

Œuvres